GAIT Nav Bar


vertical rule




Congratulations to 2017 LMSOTY

Anne Nechvtal

Cherokee High School

Cherokee County

North Central Georgia

and 2017 LMSOTY District Finalists!


Sonya Bigbie West Chatham Elementary Coastal Georgia
Beverly Brostek Glynn Middle School Southeast Georgia
Karen Garner Couch Middle School Metro District
Jennifer Gibson Chestatee High School North Georgia
Martha Maness Aaron Cohn Middle School West Central Georgia
Linda Sermons J.L. Lomax Elementary South Central Georgia
Kathy Thompson Woodland High School South Metro District
Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School Southwest Georgia


Georgia School Library Media Specialist

of the Year

Sponsored by

Georgia Association for Instructional Technology (GAIT)

Georgia Library Media Association (GLMA)

  GLMA and GAIT (Georgia Association of Instructional Technology) co-sponsor the Georgia School Library Media Specialist of the Year (LMSOTY) award to recognize K-12 library media specialists with dynamic, innovative programs and whose instructional collaborations foster student engagement and achievement. Additionally, LMSOTY finalists are leaders within their school buildings and in the greater community of library media specialists.

Each school system may select one library media specialist for this award. From those chosen for the system level award, one media specialist is chosen as the district Library Media Specialist of the Year. (Each district represents a different region of Georgia.) The state Library Media Specialist of the Year is selected from the district winners. The 2017 winner will be announced at the GLMA Summer Institute in June at the Wyndham Resort in Peachtree City.

The LMSOTY application has been updated for 2017-2018. If you are looking for an application to use within your school district, you may choose to use this Word or PDF version.

New this year is an online application for district winners! If you are the LMSOTY winner for your school district, please fill out this application by March 17, 2017.

Click here for the LMSOTY rubric updated for 2017.

Click here for the map of districts.

Click here for more information on the Library Media Specialist of the Year Award.



About GAIT :: GAIT Connection :: Conferences :: Photo Album :: Awards :: Membership Info :: Links for Learning :: Sponsored Programs :: Contact GAIT